Argentina’s Iguazu Falls. Photo by Sasha Lantukh on Unsplash

Iguazu Falls is a series of waterfalls dividing the upper and lower portions of the Iguazu River which forms the boundary between Argentina and Brazil. The name Iguazu comes from the Tupi–Guarani language meaning big water. It’s not just a clever name as this expansive collection of moving water contains 270 different falls along the approximately 2.7 kilometer (1.6 mile) stretch of the river, making it the largest waterfall system in the world.

Fans of beautiful natural sights such as this one can catch a glimpse of this big water from above while riding Soarin’ Around the World (Disney California Adventure), Soarin’ Around the World (Epcot), Soaring Over the Horizon, and Soaring: Fantastic Flight. Take a look at it on the small screen in the below video.

This iconic series of waterfalls can also be seen as Warrior Falls where T’Challa fights to protect his crown during Marvel’s 2018 film Black Panther. While much of these scenes took place on a soundstage in Atlanta, establishing and aerial shots of the real falls were used in combination with CGI.

Similarly, 2008’s Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull filmed scenes here for Indy’s triumphant return to the big screen, accompanied by digital magic.

Iguazu Falls as seen in Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. Image ©Disney/Lucasfilm

Address: Iguazú Misiones Province, Argentina
Visitor Information:
Iguazu Argentina


Our Address:

Iguazú Misiones Province, Argentina

Plan My Route